[SIDE NOTE: My SO's counselor told them a while back when all this started happening that they didn't think it was schizophrenia. Any recommendations? (I just noticed I used him the whole time, and you used they. But if you are willing to here them then I am happy to share them. I hear alot of people blame strange behavior on elevated levels of stress. Very comforting to the dying patient and nothing to be worried about. I belive the best thing you can do is to make him feel safe and loved. I have had a lot of experiences being in this position with abusive family members and partners, and I’ve spent many years trying to figure out how to best deal with it, but so far nothing has really helped. After an important meeting I have tomorrow which will affect the rest of my life, your topic is helping me/giving me more courage to go through an important conversation I need to have with someone. Even people who were more completely imaginary: characters from a book, or a film, or even a television series, might be sitting invisibly by me and hearing what I said and responding to it. What I have to share is important.”, Let the other person know what the conversation will be about and what you want by having this conversation. What if I get distraught, can’t control my emotions, say, or do something I might later regret?

I'm not sure if it was the levels of stress I was experiencing due to losing my house and job a into a wreck all in one week.