[71][72] The NDA had a majority with outside support from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Vajpayee returned as Prime Minister. The Bharatiya Jana Sangh, along with the Hindu Mahasabha and the Ram Rajya Parishad, launched a satyagraha to have pernicious provisions related to Article 370 removed. In the 1977 Indian general election Morarji Desai led the Janata Party to victory against the Congress party. [143], The Vajpayee government ordered the Indian armed forces to expel the Pakistani soldiers occupying Kashmir territory, later known as the Kargil War. The BJP advocates social conservatism and a foreign policy centred on nationalist principles. The BJS's goal was to stop the Indian National Congress's policies. [146][147] Although the government was later criticised for the intelligence failures that did not detect Pakistani presence, it was successful in ousting them from the previously Indian-controlled territory.

[67][58][116][117] The BJP has slightly moderated its stance after the NDA was formed in 1998, due to the presence of parties with a broader set of ideologies. [9]. With no other political party in position to establish a majority government, President Reddy dissolved the Parliament and called fresh elections for January 1980. The history of the Bharatiya Janata Party starts with the Bharatiya Jana Sangh (abbreviated BJS). In the run-up to the 1980 elections, the remaining Janata party leaders tried unsuccessfully to rebuild the party and make fresh alliances. The Jana Sangh took part in the widespread protests, with thousands of its members being imprisoned along with other agitators across the country. [6] [12]. [135][150] Its policy also represented a significant change from the Nehruvian idealism of previous governments, opting instead for realism. [12] However, the emergency era had been widely unpopular. When the State of Emergency was lifted and new elections called in 1977, opposition political parties such as the Congress (O), Bharatiya Jana Sangh, Bharatiya Lok Dal as well as defectors from the Congress (R) joined to form the Janata party, which won a sweeping majority in the Indian Parliament. [16] Protesting Desai's leadership, Singh resigned and withdrew the support of his BLD. The BJP does not however currently have any elected, sfn error: multiple targets (2×): CITEREFJaffrelot1996 (, sfn error: multiple targets (2×): CITEREFSwain2001 (, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment, world's largest party in terms of primary membership, special status given to Jammu and Kashmir, National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT), terrorist attack on the Indian Parliament, National Human Rights Commission of India, List of presidents of the Bharatiya Janata Party, National Executive of the Bharatiya Janata Party, National Office Bearers of the Bharatiya Janata Party, State units of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party, List of chief ministers from the Bharatiya Janata Party, List of current state presidents of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party in the Parliament of India, "Jagat Prakash Nadda: BJP's new national president rises through the ranks, faces several challenges", "Meet BL Santhosh, newly appointed general secretary of BJP", "BJP announces new parliamentary committee; Modi leader in Lok Sabha, Rajnath his deputy", "What you need to know about India's BJP", "BJP's foundation day: Brief history of the achievements and failures of the party", "BJP Gets A New Address; Soul of New Office Is The Party Worker, Says PM Modi", "PM Modi goes cashless, buys lifetime subscription of BJP mouthpiece Kamal Sandesh through cheque", "BJP think tank offers online course in governance; babus to impart lessons", "BJP think tank releases Modi Govt's 100-day report card", "Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad is not the students' wing of BJP: Shreehari Borikar", "BJP youth wing launches its campaign for party's Lok Sabha poll win", "Quota for women in council of ministers among Mahila Morcha's suggestions for BJP poll manifesto", "Need to Know BJP-led BMS is biggest labour union in India", "सरकार की नीतियों को किसानों तक पहुंचाएगा बीजेपी किसान मोर्चा", "BJP inducts 7 crore new members, creates membership drive record", "BJP to add 7 crore new members: J P Nadda", "Defining, Constructing and Policing a 'New India': Relationship between Neoliberalism and Hindutva", "Gender, Violence and the Neoliberal State in India", "India's Bharatiya Janata Party Joins Union of International Conservative Parties — The Diplomat", "International Democrat Union » Asia Pacific Democrat Union (APDU)", "Gujarat deputy CM welcomes all Congress MLAs to join Saffron party", "BJP + 29 Parties = National Democratic Alliance", "BJP seals alliances in Northeast, aims 22 LS seats", "ALPHABETICAL PARTY POSITION IN THE RAJYA SABHA", "STRENGTHWISE PARTY POSITION IN THE RAJYA SABHA", "BJP gains back Madhya Pradesh in just 15 months after losing it", "In Numbers: The Rise of BJP and decline of Congress", "Lok Sabha Election results 2019: EC declares results of all 542 seats, BJP wins 303", "Men, machinery and mind of RSS behind BJP's poll power punch", "Naroda Patiya verdict: Gujarat HC acquits Maya Kodnani, commutes Babu Bajrangi's sentence", Citizenship Amendment Bill: India's new 'anti-Muslim' law explained, "Parliament passes the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2019", "Why protests are erupting over India's new citizenship law", International Religious Freedom Report 2005, "Meet the BJP leader who released a book on LGBT rights", "It's a great honour to be awarded for book on gender variants: Gopi Shankar", "RSS flip-flop on homosexuality indicates gay men in India remain in exile, writes Ashok Row Kavi", "BJP leader launches LGBT rights book in TN", "Modi rolls out his populist plans with a second term in mind", "BJP becomes largest political party in the world", "BJP Crafts North East Democratic Alliance to Make the Region 'Congress Mukt, "Amit Shah holds meeting with northeast CMs, forms alliance", "BJP Acts East With New Anti-Congress Bloc, Puts Himanta Biswa in Charge", "Uproar over India mosque report: Inquiry into Babri mosque's demolition in 1992 indicts opposition BJP leaders", "Narendra Modi sworn in as Indian prime minister", "Raghubar Das Sworn-In as Jharkhand Chief Minister, PM Modi Misses Ceremony Due to Fog in Delhi", "Making Gujarat Vibrant: Hindutva, development and the rise of subnationalism in India", "India's gay community scrambling after court decision recriminalises homosexuality", "It is the govt. [53], In 1975, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi imposed a state of emergency.

Singh lost a parliamentary vote of confidence on November 7, 1990. Both Vajpayee and Advani as well as other members of the former BJS opted to remain members of the RSS and consequently resigned from their posts and from the party. The BJP is the successor party of the BJS, which merged itself into the Janata Party in 1977. When the party was in power in 1998, it shifted its policy even further in favour of globalisation. In the 2004 general election, the NDA suffered an unexpected defeat, and for the next ten years the BJP was the principal opposition party.

Eventually, a fragment of the Janata Party broke off to form the Janata Party (Secular).

[45] Vajpayee was sworn in as Prime Minister, but was unable to attain a majority in the Lok Sabha, forcing the government to resign after 13 days. The BJS was a political party created by Syama Prasad Mookerjee in 1951.