[4][5] Additional charters or acts are in place specifically for the cities of Brandon, Flin Flon, Portage la Prairie, Thompson and Winnipeg, the towns of Morris and Winnipeg Beach, and the rural municipalities of Kelsey, St. Andrews and Victoria Beach. [5], Manitoba has two LGDs:[6] Mystery Lake and Pinawa. [6][7] The Municipal Act and the Local Government Districts Act stipulate governance of these municipalities. [3] The largest municipality by land area is the Rural Municipality (RM) of Reynolds at 3,572.13 km2 (1,379.21 sq mi), while the smallest by land area is the Village of Lac du Bonnet at 2.15 km2 (0.83 sq mi). A village can alternately be named a town or urban municipality under the Municipal Act or a city if it has a minimum population of 7,500. "[4] Manitoba has 98 rural municipalities[20] that had a cumulative population of 301,889  Large detailed map of Manitoba with cities and towns Click to see large. Manitoba is the fifth most populous province in Canada with 1,278,365 residents as of 2016 and is the sixth largest in land area at 552,371 km2 (213,272 sq mi). [4][5][8] The Government of Manitoba's Department of Local Government is responsible for providing provincial services to municipalities. [7] For municipal statistical purposes, Mystery Lake is considered a rural municipality while Pinawa is considered an urban municipality. [3][a] These municipalities provide local government services to their residents. The rural municipalities of Alexander, Alonsa, Armstrong, Fisher, Grahamdale, Kelsey, Mountain, Park, Piney, Reynolds and Stuartburn were originally incorporated as local government districts. amalgamation. Its renaming occurred on May 1, 2005 when it simultaneously absorbed the neighbouring community of Pine Falls and changed to town status. The towns of Churchill, Gillam, Grand Rapids, Leaf Rapids, Lynn Lake and Snow Lake were originally incorporated as local government districts. Other than the minimum requirements to incorporate as an urban municipality (1,000 residents and 400 people/km2), the Municipal Act has no minimum population threshold to limit the naming of them as villages.

This population does not include 203 in the Saskatchewan portion of Flin Flon. The province's largest and smallest rural municipalities by population are the Hanover and the Victoria Beach with populations of 15,733 and 398 respectively. Stay Connected. The Municipal Act stipulates that an urban municipality can only be named a city if it has a minimum population of 7,500 residents. The Village of St-Pierre-Jolys originally incorporated under the name of the Village of St. Pierre. [3] The City of Brandon is the province's second most populous municipality with 48,859 residents. O P Q [7], Articles related to municipalities in Manitoba. [3], Manitoba Legislature in downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba's capital and largest municipality, Downtown Brandon, Manitoba's second largest municipality, Downtown Steinbach, Manitoba's third largest municipality, Aerial view of Vale's Thompson Mill and Thompson, Manitoba's fourth largest municipality, Manitoba's Municipal Act, enacted in 1987, defines rural municipality (RM) as an incorporated "area with at least 1,000 residents and a population density of less than 400 residents per square kilometre. Index: A [3], Manitoba's first municipality was the RM of Springfield (originally Springfield-Sunnyside). [3] These are St-Pierre-Jolys and Dunnottar with populations of 1,170 and 763 respectively. G H I J A town can alternately be named a village or urban municipality under the Municipal Act or a city if it has a minimum population of 7,500. [3] Manitoba's newest city is Morden, which changed from a town to a city on August 24, 2012.

[3] These totals represent 23.6% of Manitoba's population and 18.4% of its land area. E F [4][13], In Manitoba, a city is a type of urban municipality. To view PDF files, you must have a copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader which is available as a free download: The metadata for this collection of files can be accessed by clicking R S [9], Over half of Manitoba's population resides in the City of Winnipeg, the provincial capital, with a population with 705,244. [22], Manitoba's Local Government Districts Act, enacted in 1987, defines a local government district (LGD) as "an area or areas that is or are wholly or partly in unorganized territory or in a disorganized municipality" with inhabitants.