If you set too have of an expectation for yourself, it will most likely end badly. A fear of cooking. Go in with an attitude of learning and experimentation rather than one of surefire success and it’ll take some of the stress off. The truth is that cooking is hard. Writing things down as you work can help ease anxiety about where you are in a recipe.

Someday I’ll tackle it…. Mageirocophobia (pronunciation: ˌmædʒaɪrɪkəfoʊbiə) is the fear of cooking. Cooking is a skill I never learned, and I have had a lot of bad experiences in the kitchen involving cuts, burns, and foodborne illnesses. 1.