I'd rather have an extra teeny percent on the platform fee rate. That includes reading factsheets and reports, as well as Key Information Documents. Clear detail on the website; extremely clear and helpful over the phone, offer a wide range of funds to chose from, as well as a variety of ways to support learning more about investing.

AJ Bell Youinvest is considered safe because it has a long track record, is listed on a stock exchange, and is regulated by a top-tier regulator. I think the website can be improved and tools for managing portfolios made better. It hasn’t taken the lead from competitor providers like Hargreaves Lansdown and done away with them entirely, which we think merits a substantial black mark on their record. I'm a newbie investor looking for a SIPP. Would not accept SIPP because of unquoted stocks. Day to day is fine,but I had a lot of problems transferring from HL.This was partly HL.but AJB did little to assist me.They also don't give daily changes to funds in your portfolio ,only IT 's/ shares .Frustrating . Low costs, the website is ok, but still needs improvement. Could do with more tutorials and help in selecting funds. I use a financial adviser. Following a review of the tracker funds on the list, we’ve added: We’ve removed these funds to ensure we offer a focused choice within each asset type. We also use this customer rating in our analysis, to make sure we’re not rewarding companies which look good online but fail to deliver in practice. AJ Bell Youinvest is listed on the London Stock Exchange, which is a big plus for safety as AJ Bell releases financial statements regularly and transparently. Either all the current users are IT/website geeks or I am just a dunce but the AJBell user interface is frankly terrible.

AJ Bell Youinvest is a low-cost option for people who are comfortable with investing. A couple of niggles about the website but all manageable, and no idea why they charge to hold an account but most providers do.