I cut the recipe in half and got 9 large cupcakes. Feel free to adjust the amount of powdered sugar to cream until you get the consistency of frosting you prefer. Chocolate and mint are always a good pairing in my book and the combination in these cupcakes is a total winner. So feel free to do the switcheroo if mint doesn’t float your boat. Even though I cook a lot, I am a very inexperienced baker, and I think I probably did get overzealous with the mixer. I just tried this cupcake and I have to say say something. we have so much mint growing in our garden, and i’d really like to try baking these or anything really, with it, and i don’t know how exactly you’d get the flavor from the leaf into something you could use for the cupcake. :o), can’t try these as of now, but i agree with liz. Hi Alison, :( Rather than rising in the middle, the middles drooped lower than the pan. The most helpful comments are the ones that give useful feedback for others who might make the recipe, tell about substitutions you made or adjustments you made and how it turned out, or assisting other commenters. Slowly add in the chocolate butter mixture and beat until combined. Free coupons & recipes sent right to your inbox! Recipes for simple butter cream or cream cheese frosting follow. Prepare your frosting by adding the vegan butter, powdered sugar, soy milk, green food coloring and peppermint extract to an electric mixer. I would SO eat that!” countered Garrett. I can’t wait to make these again. Cupcake recipe is adapted from a Cook's Illustrated recipe for dark chocolate cupcakes. Once the cupcakes are frosted store them in the refrigerator. I ended up using more cream than was called for. 4 Beat eggs, salt, sugar, mint extract, then add chocolate mixture: In a large bowl (can use a mixer), beat the eggs. I LOVE THIS BRAND, 1 Square of Shaved 100% Dark Chocolate (Optional). I may try my hand again in the summer when there is plenty of mint growing, and zucchini, and do a chocolate zucchi